On Sunday’s Dinner Table @ Casa d’Amado

3 Jul

After keeping things simple Saturday, I decided to test myself Iron Chef style. After spending 30 minutes taking inventory of what was available on hand, I had my menu:

Chili Relleno Casserole with Grilled Zucchini and Whole Grain Garlic Bread

070320111725

Prep:

Pre-heat over to 180C

070320111726

070320111727

I blistered the skin of the peppers under an old Communist era salamander and tossed them into a plastic food bag to let the steam loosen their skins. My wife asked me, “why peel the peppers?”

“Darlin’, it’s all about the taste and the mouthfeel.”

Peppers peeled and set aside, I blended the cheese with minced garlic and herbes de Provence and set that aside. I whipped the egg whites until stiff peaks formed, whipped the yolks and added the chopped Spring onions, then gently folded the yolks into the whites until uniform in color. I buttered the bottom of a casserole dish and lay down one layer of the peppers and sprinkled the cheese blend on top. I then spread 1/2 of the egg mixture over the top and lay down a second layer of peppers, cheese, Bresaola & Proscuitto. Topped it all off with the rest of the egg mixture and placed on the middle rack of the oven. While that cooked, I covered the zucchini with the vinaigrette and grilled them on both sides.

070320111728 070320111732

I pulled the zucchini off after getting nice grill marks on both sides. You have to be careful not to over cook or you end up with limp, floppy, squash. I split the whole grain rohliky and brushed both sides with garlic butter and warmed up some Italian style tomato sauce I purchased during Italian Week at Lidl.

070320111729.jpg

I took out the casserole when it had a nice golden brown colour and sprinkled the cheese mixture over the top and returned to the oven until the cheese melted. Cut… plate… and serve…

070320111733

Leave a Reply

