On the Dinner Table @ Casa d’ Amado: Veal Scallopini

17 Jul

071720111847

I had a big surprise today.  We found around 2.5 kg of veal in the freezer buried beneath meat scraps for the dog.  Petra and I had been wondering what we were going prepare for dinner, and now I had our answer.  Veal Scallopini.

The meat looked to be cut from either the shoulder or the hind quarter of the animal, so I had quite a bit of work to do trimming and removing all the connective tissue and silver skin.  Still, it was a labor of love since it is not often that I have the opportunity to work with such a choice cut of meat.

Here’s what I managed to find in our kitchen:

  • Veal Cutlets pounded to about 1/8 in. thickness
  • Flour
  • Herbes de Provence
  • Mushrooms, sliced (I had Shitake and Porcini on hand)
  • White Wine (demi-dry… a Chardonnay or Sauvignon Blanc will do nicely)
  • Chicken Stock
  • Fresh Parsley, chopped
  • Bay Leaf
  • Butter (unsalted)
  • Olive Oil
  • Salt & Pepper

After portioning the veal cutlets, I seasoned the dredging flour with herbes de provence, salt & pepper (Don’t be afraid to taste the flour mixture. Always taste as you go).  I combined a bit of butter and olive oil in a large pan over medium heat, dredged the cutlets in the flour mixture, and cooked the cutlets for about a minute on each side until the jucies ran clear (Try to work in no more than 3 batches at a time.  You don’t want to burn the flavorful residue).  After the cutlets were done, I quickly sautéed the mushrooms in the same pan and set the mushrooms aside and started the sauce by deglazing the pan with about a cup of wine, a bay leaf, and reduced by 1/2 (Make sure to scrape all the yummy brown bits stuck to the bottom of the pan while the wine is reducing).  I followed with about about 2 cups of chicken stock and reduced by 1/2, and pulled it off the heat and finished with beurre monté… whisking cold chunks of unsalted butter to the liquid until I had the consistency I wanted.  Salt & Pepper to taste and chopped parsley to garnish.

I served the veal topped with mushrooms and sauce accompanied with steamed broccoli and buttered boiled potatoes.  A fine way to dine on our last vacation day.

071720111846

 

Leave a Reply

